And finally… The 30 projects in contention to be world’s best building

The Heydar Aliyev Centre in Baku, Azerbaijan by Zaha Hadid Architects
The Heydar Aliyev Centre in Baku, Azerbaijan by Zaha Hadid Architects

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the 30 buildings in contention for its first global architecture award, The RIBA International Prize.

The projects will be visited by the RIBA awards committee this summer then whittled down to 20 of the best buildings, after which six finalists will be chosen and visited by the Grand Jury this autumn.

The 30 buildings under consideration include nominated projects from China to Colombia, Ireland and Azerbaijan.

Setting a new global standard for architectural achievement, the prize will be judged by an expert panel led by world-renowned architect, Richard Rogers.

From hundreds of entries, the 30 buildings selected range in size and budget. Projects range from large urban infrastructure schemes to private residential projects; cultural destinations to civic spaces; academic buildings to places of worship. The RIBA International Prize will be awarded to the most significant and inspirational building of the year. The winning building will demonstrate visionary, innovative thinking and excellence of execution, whilst making a distinct contribution to its users and to its physical context. Unlike any previous RIBA award for architecture, the RIBA International Prize is open to any qualified architect in the world.

Billie Tsien, founding partner of Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners based in New York City joins the Grand Jury adjudicating the Prize, chaired by Richard Rogers. Fellow jurors are Kunlé Adeyemi, founder and principal of NLÉ, Marilyn Jordan Taylor FAIA, the dean of architecture at the University of Pennsylvania’s School of Fine Arts and Philip Gumuchdjian, founder of Gumuchdjian Architects and Chair of RIBA Awards.

RIBA President, Jane Duncan said: “We have been delighted with the response to our inaugural RIBA International Prize, which has brought a huge range of exceptional entries from all around the globe. It will be fascinating to see insights from the judges and entrants into the power and value of great architecture, wherever you are in the world.”

Billie Tsien, Founding Partner of TWBTA speaking on joining the jury added: “It is a huge honour and responsibility to consider work for premiation. Of importance to me personally is the opportunity to recognize work of integrity, both aesthetically and in the value system under which it is made.”

See a map of each of the projects here.

The list of buildings to be considered include the following:




Angdong Hospital

Baojing County, China

Rural Urban Framework

Arquipelago Contemporary Arts Centre

Ribeira Grande, The Azores

Menos é Mais, Arquitectos Associados

João Mendes Ribeiro Arquitecto, Lda.

Buenos Aires Ciudad Casa de Gobierno

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Foster + Partners

Berdichevsky Cherny Arquitectos & StudioMinond


Culture House Rozet

Arnhem, Netherlands

Neutelings Riedijk Architects

DLR Lexicon

Dún Laoghaire Co, Dublin, Ireland

Carr Cotter Naessens

Europaallee Baufeld E

Zurich, Switzerland

Caruso St John Architects

Bosshard Vaquer Architekten

European Hansemuseum

Lübeck, Germany

Studio Andreas Heller Architects & Designers

Farming Kindergarten

Bien Hoa City, Vietnam

Vo Trong Nghia Architects

Fine Arts Museum of Asturias

Oviedo, Spain

Francisco Mangado - Mangado y Asociados

Fulton Centre

New York, USA



Page Ayres Cowley Architects

Heydar Aliyev Centre

Baku, Azerbaijan

Zaha Hadid Architects

DiA Holding

Invisible House

Hampton Australia

Peter Stutchbury Architecture

Jockey Club Innovation Tower

Hung Hom, Hong Kong

Zaha Hadid Architects

Museo Jumex

Mexico City, Mexico

David Chipperfield Architects

Taller Abierto de Arquitectura y Urbanismo (TAAU)

Office Building Moganshan Road

Hangshou, China

Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH

Oita Prefecture Art Museum

Oita, Japan

Shigeru Ban Architects

PARKROYAL on Pickering


WOHA Architects Pte. Ltd.

Public Library of Constitucion

Constitucion, Chile

Sebastian Irarrazaval Arquitectos

Qatar Faculty of Islamic Studies

Doha, Qatar

Mangera Yvars Architects Ltd


Stravanger, Norway

dRMM Architects / Helen and Hard Architects

Saint Louis Art Museum

St. Louis, USA

David Chipperfield Architects


Saint Trinitatis Catholic Church

Leipzig, Germany

Schulz und Schulz

Sancaklar Mosque

Büyükçekmece/Istanbul, Turkey

EAA-Emre Arolat Architecture


Soo Khian Chan, Singapore

SCDA Architects Pte Ltd

St Angela’s College Cork

Cork, Ireland

O’Donnell + Tuomey


Bodø, Norway

DRDH Architects

The Ring of Remembrance, International WWI Memorial of Notre-Dame-de-Lorette

Ablain-Saint-Nazaire, France


Tula House

Heriot Bay, Quadra Island, Canada

Patkau Architects

UTEC - Universidad de Ingenieria y Tecnologia

Peru, Lima

Grafton Architects

Shell Arquitectos

VIA at West 57th

New York, USA

BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group

SLCE Architects


Share icon
Share this article: