Deadline extended for Scottish Civil Engineering Awards

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the deadline for the prestigious Scottish Civil Engineering Awards 2020 has been extended for six weeks.

Deadline extended for Scottish Civil Engineering Awards

2019 award winners the Perth Transport Futures Team

Project teams now have until June 1 to submit entries with the search on for Scotland’s top engineering and construction projects.

Organised jointly by CECA Scotland and ICE Scotland, the awards celebrate outstanding civil engineering achievement, innovation and ingenuity in Scotland. With past winners including the V&A and the Queensferry Crossing, the awards are widely recognised as the highest honour for engineering excellence in the built environment sector, showcasing the success of Scottish civil engineering and celebrating how it shapes and adds value to everyday life.  

It’s not just big projects that will be celebrated. Entries are encouraged from smaller projects making a real difference in communities right across Scotland and for the first time, entry is free for civils projects with a turnover of £2 million or less (standard entry fee is £450)

Construction and built environment professionals are invited to nominate Scottish and international projects designed in Scotland and completed in 2019/2020 (or due for completion very soon) by 5pm on Monday 1st June 2020.

CECA Scotland chief executive, Grahame Barn, said: “With construction largely on pause in Scotland as the nation fights the COVID-19 epidemic, we have taken the decision to extend the deadline for the 2020 Scottish Civil Engineering Awards to give project teams extra time to get entries in given the unique circumstances we are now in.

“I know the Judging Panel are really looking forward to receiving this year’s entries and to celebrating the crucial role civil engineering plays in shaping Scotland, in enhancing our environment and our well-being and in delivering Scotland’s future economic success.”

Following the closing date, entries will be considered by an expert industry panel with categories including the Greatest Contribution to Scotland; Best Infrastructure Project; Innovation; Building; Sustainability and Resilience; Heritage and Restoration; and Community.

Industry leaders from government and industry and academia will join an audience of 150 senior figures from Scotland’s construction and built environment industries at a lunchtime celebration event in the autumn.

Share icon
Share this article: