Revamp brings civic pride back to Kinross Town Hall

Work has been completed on the transformation of Kinross’ historic Town Hall site, preserving and reviving properties that had stood empty for more than a decade.

The £1.5 million project has seen the creation of nine, one and two bedroom apartments on the High Street location which dates back to the 19th century.

Revamp brings civic pride back to Kinross Town Hall

The homes, which blend architectural heritage with contemporary style, are now being marketed for the first time – with a specific focus on targeting first time buyers through the Help to Buy scheme.

The iconic building, which includes the town’s clock tower, former post office and library, was declared surplus to requirements by Perth and Kinross Council in 2003.

The 12-month refurbishment programme has seen the former library made into a pair of two-bed townhouses, with four one-bed and three two-bed apartments in the town hall and post office sections.

Each apartment at Kinross Town Hall has been individually designed by a team of architects with the aim of creating the best standard of accommodation in the area.

Development manager Simon Leeman said the development is ideal for first-time buyers looking for more value for money away from high-priced city properties or downsizers looking to move to a modern and stylish home.

He added: : “We are delighted to have brought back to life a significant historical building group that has played such an important role to Kinross.

“The nature of this development, with the location and character of the building, has helped to create a distinct form of urban town living.

“Kinross is one of the most attractive places to live in Scotland so we’re delighted to offer people a rare chance to buy a stunning apartment in the town.

“This development is a great choice for young people looking to escape extortionate city prices while staying within easy reach for the commute. Likewise, it’s perfect for downsizers looking to free up cash to explore their passions yet still live in high quality surroundings.”

The initial work on the building started in 1841 when a post office was built around the church steeple, while the Town Hall was completely finished in 1868.

The redevelopment – which also allowed for a number of local apprentices to be trained on the site – also integrated the existing war memorials into the building to pay homage to its history.

Share icon
Share this article: