Scotland’s top builders honoured by NHBC

NHBCThe National House-Building Council (NHBC) has honoured 39 builders on Scottish sites for their dedication to building homes of outstanding quality.

The home warranty and insurance provider has revealed the names of the Quality Award winners - the UK’s 445 best site managers, placing them at the very top of their profession.

Now in its 36th year, Pride in the Job celebrates the exceptional contribution site managers make in creating homes of outstanding quality. As well as undergoing spot checks on the day-to day running of the sites, each site manager is assessed across 37 areas of site management, including their technical knowledge, consistency in the build process and the quality controls they have in place.

With more than 16,000 site managers competing for the awards, NHBC said this year’s Quality Award winners have been hand-picked for their excellent standards on site.

Mike Quinton, chief executive of NHBC, said: “Congratulations to all the 2016 Quality Award winners - the strength of this year’s entries coupled with the judges’ long and hard deliberations over selecting 445 winners from 16,000 site managers should give great pride to them all and their teams.

“For 36 years, our Pride in the Job Awards have played a pivotal role in NHBC’s work to raise standards across the industry through the celebration and sharing of best practice.

“Pride in the Job rewards those site managers who produce the best new homes which are built and finished to the highest possible standard. Most importantly, homeowners who buy a Pride in the Job award-winning home benefit from a high quality product.

“It’s no surprise that our data shows Pride in the Job winning sites have higher levels of customer satisfaction as these homes are without doubt among the best the UK has to offer.

“On behalf of everyone at NHBC, I would like to congratulate them on this wonderful achievement.”

As part of the year-long judging process, the Quality Award winners will now be shortlisted for Seals of Excellence and Regional titles which will be revealed in the autumn.

The regional winners will then go forward to compete for the national Supreme Winner title in their category at the Pride in the Job Gala, taking place in London in January.

The Scottish Quality Award winners, along with their company and development, are:

A & J Stephen Ltd

Alan Robertson Balgarvie Farm, Perth

Barratt and David Wilson Homes East Scotland

Gareth Lewis Bridge View South, Queensferry

Ewan MacLean Dalmeny Park, South Queensferry

Peter Lawrie The Elms, Kirkliston

Dick Sinnet Newcraighall Village, Edinburgh

Barratt and David Wilson Homes North Scotland Limited

David Scott Osprey Heights, Inverurie

David Oliver Millbrae, Bridge of Don

David MacLean The Grange, Elgin

Barratt and David Wilson Homes West Scotland

Murray Grierson Parklands, Coatbridge

Tom Leitch Bothwell Mews, Strathclyde

Alan Grant Highland Gate, Stirling

Matt McLaughlin The Botanics Glasgow, Strathclyde

Bellway Homes Ltd (Scotland)

George Carty The Marches, Stepps

Kevin Dineen Glenmill, Darney, Strathclyde

CALA Homes (East) Ltd

Mark Foley Dalmeny Park, South Queensferry

Colin Hawthorne Priory Meadow, North Berwick

Michael Harding Craigpark Quarry, Ratho

CALA Homes (North) Ltd

Fred Anderson The Links, Bridge of Don

Alan Whitelaw Milltimber Grange, Old Ford Village, Aberdeen

CALA Homes (West) Ltd

Michael Carrigan Woodilee, Glasgow

Stuart Dallas Peel Road

Hudson Hirsel LLP

Jeff Loughlin Leet Haugh, Coldstream

Mactaggart and Mickel Homes Ltd

Stuart Gillespie Greenan Views, Ayr

Colin Thain Thornybank Green, Dalkeith

Garry Henderson Braemore Wood, Troon

Miller Homes Scotland East

Jim Martin Roselea, Rosewell, Midlothian

Kris Aitchison Liberty Park, Bathgate

Miller Homes Scotland West

Stephen Mack Fullwood Gardens, Motherwell

Quartermile Ventures Ltd

Bob Strachan New Meadow, Edinburgh

Stewart Milne South

Allan Cunningham Earls Green, Troon

Taylor Wimpey East Scotland

Colin McNeish Almond Park, Musselburgh

Graham Spence Masterton Gardens, Dunfermline

Eddie McCann Calderwood, East Calder, East Lothian

Taylor Wimpey West Scotland

Paul Cunningham Dargavel Village, Bishopton, Strathclyde

Iain Alexander Smithstone, Cumbernauld

Alan Meek Ravenscliff, Motherwell

Scott McNulty Walkers Gate, Kilmarnock

Dougie Kirkland Newton Farm, Cambuslang

Tulloch Homes Ltd

Lewis MacKinnon The Park, Inverness

A full list of winners is available here.

Share icon
Share this article: