Association for Project Management unveils awards finalists

The chartered body for the project profession Association for Project Management (APM) has announced the finalists for its APM Project Management Awards 2019.

V&A Dundee is in the running for the Engineering, Construction and Infrastructure Project of the Year award

Recognising the valuable contribution that project professionals make, the RPC UK Ltd-sponsored awards showcase the very best individuals, projects and programmes that the profession has to offer and acknowledges their incredible achievements.

Debbie Dore, chief executive of APM, said: “This year we’ve had a record number of entries submitted – an increase of 12 per cent compared to 2018. It’s a good reflection of the growing profession and positive acknowledgement of project managers’ hard work and focus on high standards.”

Allyn Keown, chairman of the APM Awards 2019, added: “The annual APM Awards highlights the pinnacle of the project management profession. Those who put themselves forward to be judged are the elite of an elite.

The top 10 sectors that entered the 2019 Awards were:

  • Consultancy (18%)
  • Energy (12%)
  • Defence (10%)
  • Transport (10%)
  • Engineering (8%)
  • Technology (8%)
  • Government (7%)
  • Finance (6%)
  • Education (6%)
  • Life Science/Medical (4%)

Four of the 19 categories – the Innovation in Projects Award; Award for Contribution to the Profession: Consultancy; Award for Contribution to the Profession: Charity/Third Sector; and Award for Contribution to the Profession: Company – are completely new for the 2019 Awards and look to reward particularly innovative project delivery approaches and achievements. They have been introduced to recognise the contributions organisations are making towards improvements in project management practice and team development.

Finalists include the V&A Dundee project, which has been recognised in the Engineering, Construction and Infrastructure Project of the Year category. The project, delivered by Turner & Townsend, demonstrates outstanding innovative design, excellence in delivery and represents the centrepiece of the Dundee Waterfront Regeneration.

One of the finalists in the new Contribution to the Profession category: Charity/Not for Profit is the Scout Association, which has spent the past year developing multiple projects within their programmes of work.

Another new category, Innovation in Projects, saw a project from the RSPB to install renewable energy initiatives become a finalist. The project included installing a biomass boiler and over 700 solar panels across the RSPB’s nature reserves.

Continuing with the sustainability theme, the Social Project of the Year category saw Transport for London’s low emission bus zones project recognised in the list of finalists. The project set out to deliver significant reductions in harmful air pollutants, leading to a reduction of the 9,500 premature deaths caused each year by long-term exposure to air pollution.

To reflect the high calibre of the entries in the Young Project Professional of the Year Award category this year, judges wished to recognise an additional two entrants with a Highly Commended certification in addition to the five finalists.

All 2019 categories received a significant number of entries. The full list of finalists in each category is as follows (in no particular order):



Herbert Walton Award

Sponsored by: BAE Systems

Dr Simon Addyman – Charles Rymill Ltd. (University College London)

Dr David Biggins – Bournemouth University

Geoffrey Trimble Award

Troy Lancaster – Amey (University of Warwick)

Sarah McLean– MOD (Cranfield University)

Andrew Campbell – Ryden LLP (University of the West of Scotland)

Becky Emly – Mott McDonald (University, London South Bank)

Ross McMaster – Wood PLC (University of Manchester)

Shell Health, Safety, Security Environmental (HSSE) Award

Sponsored by: Shell

Turner & Townsend – MBNL HSQA Project

Arup – Healthy by Design Programme, HS2 Phase2b

Jacobs – Safely Delivering Risk Reduction in an Extraordinary Environment using Jacobs Beyond Zero® Principles

BAE Systems Naval Ships – Safety by Design

Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration

Sponsored by: Nichols Group

Loraine Martins MBE – Network Rail

Michèle Dix – Crossrail 2, Transport for London

Projecting Success & Sir Robert McAlpine

Programme of the Year

Sponsored by: RSM UK

Network Rail and PA Consulting – Condor: the £1.5bn Sale of Network Rail Commercial Estate

Rolls-Royce PLC – Rolls-Royce Trent 1000 Aircraft on Ground Recovery Programme

Conwy County Borough Council – Conwy Modernisation Programme

PMO of the Year

GCHQ – Transforming and Operating GCHQ’s Enterprise PMO in our Centenary Year


BPP Education Group – Doing the Right Projects, Doing Projects Right – Doing the Right Projects, Doing Projects Right

Turner & Townsend – HMRC Locations Programme

Innovation in Projects Award

Sponsored by: Provek

Proteus – Proteus Learning Hub

Experian – Experian & Open Banking

RSPB – RSPB Renewable Energy Project

Contribution to the Profession Award: Consultancy

Sponsored by: Jacobs


Gate One

Program Planning Professionals Ltd. (PCUBED)

Turner & Townsend

Contribution to the Profession Award: Charity/Not-for-profit

Home Group PMO

The Scouts

Contribution to the Profession Award: Company

Sellafield Ltd.

BAE Systems


Young Project Professional of the Year – Finalists

Sponsored by: Leidos

Jacob Achenbach – Rolls-Royce Crosspointe, LLC

Grace Blundell – Gate One

Laura Fenton – Gate One

Aimee Tweedie – BAE Systems

Emily Outten – DHL Supply Chain

Young Project Professional of the Year – Highly Commended

Ben Salmon – Heathrow Airport Ltd.

Katerina Leckie – Gate One

Project Professional of the Year

Sponsored by: Ramboll

Spencer Hobbs – Network Rail

Lucy Campbell-Gillingham – Hive Centrica Limited

Matt Woof – Jacobs

David Calver – North Highland

Technology Project of the Year

Sponsored by: Hyde Park Solutions Ltd.

Ministry of Defence: Royal Air Force, Defence Equipment and Support – Project CENTURION

Heathrow Airport – Integrated Airport Operations Plan and Demand Capacity Balancing tool

Cavendish Nuclear – The Pile Fuel Cladding Silo Project

HM Passport Office (Home Office) – HMPO, Digital Customer Services

Transformation Project of the Year

Sponsored by: Hyde Park Solutions Ltd.

Rolls-Royce – Product Lifecycle System

Rolls-Royce Submarines Ltd. – Integrated Business Planning and Controls

PCUBED (Program Planning Professionals Ltd.) – Sellafield Ltd. Project Delivery Directorate – Lean Project Delivery improvement project

Royal Mail Group Ltd. – Supporting Retail in the Digital Age

Social Project of the Year

Sponsored by: Hyde Park Solutions Ltd.

HM Revenue & Customs - Soft Drinks Industry Levy

North Cumbria University Hospitals Trust & Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust – Maternity Information System

Transport for London – Low Emission Bus Zones

Home Group – Douglas Bader Park Regeneration Ballot Campaign

Engineering, Construction and Infrastructure Project of the Year

Sponsored by: Hyde Park Solutions Ltd.

Arup – The Defence and National Rehabilitation Centre

Shell International – Shell Appomattox Project

Sellafield Ltd. – Silo Maintenance Facility Project

Turner & Townsend – V&A Dundee

The next step in the judging process will be to select the winners in each category. This will include stage two presentations in certain categories, which will take place in London during the first week of September.

Winners will be announced at the prestigious, black-tie awards ceremony on Monday 18 November at Old Billingsgate, London.

Related posts