Edinburgh Architectural Association unveils 2016 awards shortlist

2016 EAA AwardsRichard Murphy Architects will battle it out with fellow practices Beecher and 7N for the Building of the Year title from the Edinburgh Architectural Association.

The Association has whittled down 34 submissions to reveal the shortlist for its 2016 EAA Awards.

All projects are designed by registered architects and built within the chapter area of Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Borders and south Fife, with exception to the Ambassador Award which is built out with the chapter.

Building of the Year:

  • Murphy House, Hart Street - Richard Murphy Architects
  • Solid House - Beecher Architect
  • Westfield Avenue Phase Two - 7N Architects

  • Regeneration and Conservation:

    • Rosyth Parish Church - City Architecture Office

    • Saltcoats Steading - Aitken Turnbull Architects
    • Woodhall House - Lorn Macneal Architects
    • Small Projects:

      • “It’s Bigger on the Inside” - David Blaikie Architects
      • Newbattle Gardens - Craig Amy Architect
      • Sydserf - Sutherland & Co Architects
      • The Causeway - Konishi Gaffney Architects
      • Ambassador Award:

        • Forsinard Lookout Tower - Icosis Architects
        • Riverside Campus, City of Glasgow College – Michael Laird Architects / Reiach and Hall Architects
        • The Kirroughtree Visitor Centre - J M Architects
        • York Art Gallery - Ushida Findlay Simpson Brown
        • Wood Award:

          • 9 Succoth Park - Goodburn Baillie (Architecture) Ltd
          • Craigdon Mountain Sports Retail Facility - Oberlanders Architects LLP
          • Edinburgh Academy Hockey Pavilion - Richard Murphy Architects
          • The 2016 Judges are Ben Rainger RIAS - EAA Junior Vice President, Gloria Lo RIAS - EAA CPD Coordinator, Mark Douglas Lead Officer (Built Heritage & Design) - Scottish Borders Council and Anna Stuart MBE - Chair of Cassiltoun Trust.

            The results will be announced at a celebratory drinks event at the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation on Thursday 5th May 2016 from 6pm-9pm. A limited number of tickets for the event are available free of charge to architects within the chapter area. These can be obtained by applying to Stuart Bryce mail@eaa.org.uk. Tickets will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

            An exhibition showcasing the shortlisted entries is due to be held at the RIAS, Joyce B Deans room at 15 Rutland Square, Edinburgh from mid-April 2016. This will be open to the public from 9.00am until 5.00pm Monday to Friday.

            The EAA is a chapter of the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland.

            Share icon
            Share this article: