Engineers represented on new Just Transition Commission

The full membership of the new Just Transition Commission has been announced by the Scottish Government.

Engineers represented on new Just Transition Commission

Announced in September, the body will feature 12 Parliamentary-term Commissioners who, working alongside Commission chair Professor Jim Skea CBE, will scrutinise, advise and report annually on the progress Scotland is making to ensure a greener, fairer future for everyone.

The 12 Commissioners appointed for the parliamentary term are:

  • Lang Banks - director, WWF Scotland and previous JTC commissioner
  • Ameena Camps - director of Community Energy Scotland
  • Colette Cohen - CEO of Net Zero Technology Centre (formerly Oil and Gas Technology Centre) and previous Commissioner
  • Elaine Dougall - regional co-ordinating officer of Unite, STUC General Council and Women’s Committee
  • Katie Gallogly-Swan - policy coordinator for the joint project on a Global Green New Deal between UNCTAD and the Global Development Policy Centre at Boston University
  • Richard Hardy – national secretary, Prospect Union, and previous JTC Commissioner
  • Rajiv Joshi - founder, Bridging Ventures
  • Ann Pettifor - economist, director of policy research in macroeconomics (PRIME)
  • Mark Reed - professor of rural entrepreneurship and co-director of the Thriving Natural Capital Challenge Centre at SRUC (Scotland’s Rural College)
  • Satwat Rehman - chief executive of One Parent Families Scotland (OPFS)
  • Nick Robins - professor in practice for sustainable finance, Grantham Institute, LSE and Co-founder of the Financing the Just Transition Alliance 
  • Hannah Smith - director, Institution of Civil Engineers, Scotland

Four further, fixed-term Commissioners have been appointed to provide expert industry advice and insight on the Just Transition Plan for the energy sector, with work to co-design that plan set to start next year. Additional Commissioners providing specialist experience and insight will be appointed for the duration of each sectoral just transition plan.

The four Commissioners appointed for the Transition Plan for the energy sector are:

  • Rachel McEwen - chief sustainability officer, SSE (and previous Just Transition Commissioner)
  • Jake Molloy - RMT regional officer (Aberdeen); chair: Offshore Co-ordinating Group / member: O&G & Energy Transition SLG; Former offshore worker.
  • Ronnie Quinn - CEO of NECCUS alliance
  • Ray Riddoch, director of Harlaw Energy, with a career spanning 40 years both in the UK and overseas in the oil and gas industry

Just transition minister Richard Lochhead said: “Ensuring our journey to net zero is just and fair for everyone is critical, and the appointment of the Just Transition Commission membership marks an important step in this progress.

“The Parliamentary-term membership of the new Commission brings a wide range of skills, expertise and views to help shape and steer our approach to just transition in the coming year, and I’d like to thank the Commissioners for agreeing to undertake the vital work that lies ahead.

“Our approach in appointing additional Commissioners to support work on our first specific plan for the energy sector demonstrates our commitment to partnering with those who stand to be most impacted by the transition to net zero, ensuring they are given a voice in determining their future. I want to be clear that we will listen to, and engage with, stakeholders and workers across the sector to ensure a just transition for everyone on the journey to net zero.”

Professor Skea said: “Over the next four years, the Just Transition Commission will draw on a deep well of experience and expertise from across industry, business and finance, trade unions, environmental and community groups, and academia.

“I’m grateful to each of our new Commissioners for agreeing to take on the task that lies before us all: a transition to net zero that is truly just and makes our country resilient for the challenges ahead.

“We in Scotland have talked the talk on the need for a just transition. Now it’s time to deliver. Obviously that must mean tough choices, hard work, and careful planning based on the best evidence.”

Nick Robins, professor in practice for sustainable finance with the Grantham Research Institute at LSE, added: “Scotland’s Just Transition Commission has set the global standard in terms of analysis and advice on how to make the future fairer and greener for all. I’m delighted to join as a Commissioner for its second term and keen to get involved in its work, particularly around the design and delivery of Scotland’s just transition plans.”

Share icon
Share this article: