Homes for Scotland announces 2024 awards shortlist

Homes for Scotland announces 2024 awards shortlist

Sector body Homes for Scotland (HFS) has announced the shortlist for its 2024 awards programme, this year focused on how its members are meeting the housing needs of everyone living (or who wishes to live) in Scotland.

With the awards seeking to showcase the many examples of best practice and innovation which HFS members provide across the country, those companies making the judges’ first cut are:

Development of the Year – large (100+ units)

sponsored by Openreach

  • Barratt East Scotland - Baltic Street, Leith
  • CALA Homes (East) - Waterfront Plaza, Leith
  • CALA Homes (West) - Jordanhill Park, Glasgow
  • CCG (Scotland) & Home Group - The Meat Market, Glasgow
  • Keepmoat - NorthBridge, Glasgow
  • Taylor Wimpey East Scotland - Bankfield Brae, Edinburgh

Development of the Year – medium (26-99 units)

  • Campion Homes & Kingdom Housing Association - Gauldry, Fife
  • Campion Homes & Kingdom Housing Association - Primrose Street, Alloa
  • CCG (Scotland) - Dundashill Plot 3, Glasgow
  • Eildon Housing Association - Poynder Apartments, Kelso
  • Headon S1 St Andrews West Ltd - St Andrews West – N6 Phase 1, St Andrews
  • The JR Group - Carrick Street, Ayr
  • McTaggart Construction & North Ayrshire Council - Harbourside, Irvine
  • Robertson Homes - Thorn View, Glasgow

Development of the Year – small (up to 25 units)

  • CCG Homes - Calderwood Lodge, Glasgow
  • Lar Housing Trust - Ford’s Road, Edinburgh
  • Whiteburn Projects - Viewforth, Kirkcaldy

People | Place | Planet

  • CCG (Scotland)
  • Whiteburn Projects

Supporting Organisation of the Year

  • Perceptive Communicators
  • Pixel
  • Rettie & Co.

With equal importance placed on the creation of new high-quality places to live and the social, environmental and economic impacts on customers and communities, the judges wish to recognise those demonstrating truly innovative and impactful projects and practices.

In keeping with the programme’s robust and rigorous nature, the independent panel will be undertaking site visits to all those shortlisted in the Development of the Year categories alongside corresponding senior management interviews to determine who will take one of three headline Home Builder of the Year awards. Those shortlisted under the People | Place | Planet category will be interviewed online, with a sub-group of the HFS Board deciding upon the winner of Supporting Organisation of the Year.

Winners will be revealed at the Homes for Scotland Annual Lunch (sponsored by Burness Paull) at the EICC on Friday 17 May at which over 800 senior industry representatives and guests are already confirmed to attend what remains the date in the Scottish home building industry calendar.

Chair of the independent judging panel David Knight, former managing director at Avant Homes, said: “With this representing my final year in tenure as Chair, I have been honoured to be a part of the judging process for these quality awards, with 2024 representing another high calibre of entrants.

“Having now also completed the site visit and interview process, my fellow judges and I now face the difficult task of determining the winners. Given the high standards and passion of those who bring these wide-ranging developments, processes and practices to life, this is going to be an extremely tough job.”

Share icon
Share this article: