Homes for Scotland Awards shortlist announced

Homes for Scotland (HFS) has announced the shortlist for its annual home building industry awards as the organisation prepares to celebrate the sector’s achievements.

HFS said the entries showcase the high quality work that the industry produces and the innovative practices it engages in

Homes for Scotland Awards shortlist announced

Winners from last year's event

The companies achieving finalist places are:

Private Development of the Year – Large (100+ units) – award sponsored by NHBC

  • Barratt & David Wilson Homes East Scotland Newcraighall Village, Edinburgh
  • Barratt Homes North Scotland Riverside Quarter, Aberdeen
  • CALA Homes (West) 21 Mansionhouse Road, Glasgow
  • Robertson Partnership Homes & Urban Union Pennywell Living, Edinburgh
  • Stewart Milne Homes Central Scotland Dargaval Village, Bishopton

Private Development of the Year – Medium (26-99 units) – award sponsored by Allied Surveyors Scotland

  • A & J Stephen (Builders) & ZeroC Holdings Tornagrain Phase 1A, Tornagrain
  • Bancon Homes & Halliday Fraser Munro Monument View, Inverurie
  • Barratt Homes West Scotland Waterside, Renfrew
  • CALA Homes (East) The Crescent at Donaldson’s, Edinburgh
  • Dandara The Meadows, Aberdeen
  • Mactaggart & Mickel Greenan Views, Ayr

Private Development of the Year – Small (up to 25 units) – award sponsored by First Title

  • Bancon Homes Aspire Mews, Aberdeen
  • CALA Homes (West) Riverside at Bothwell, Lanarkshire
  • Headon Developments The Mews, Edinburgh
  • Whiteburn Projects Ashludie House, Monifeith

Affordable Housing Development of the Year – award sponsored by Anderson Strathern

  • Campion Homes Former Caledonian Road School, Perth
  • Clyde Valley Housing Association Coatbridge Library, Coatbridge
  • Glasgow Housing Association (part of the Wheatley Group) & CCG Dougrie Drive, Glasgow
  • Home Group Muirskeith Road, Glasgow
  • Kingdom Housing Association Regeneration of Fraser Avenue, Inverkeithing
  • Sanctuary Group Anderston Regeneration, Glasgow

Supporting Organisation of the Year – award sponsored by Velux

  • Contract Scotland
  • Perceptive Communicators

Company Innovation and Best Practice – award sponsored by Ground Developments Ltd

  • Barratt Homes Building without Barriers
  • Mactaggart & Mickel Becoming an Employer of Choice
  • McTaggart Construction Sustainable Communities Programme

With main categories remaining the same this year, the Innovation and Best Practice award was expanded to allow HFS members to highlight examples of innovative practices they have implemented with a view to having a significant positive impact on their individual organisation. Reflecting the continued robust nature of the programme and its stringent judging criteria, this year’s independent judging panel will again be interviewing those shortlisted in this category as well as the finalists for the Supporting Organisation of the Year award.

The judges will also be undertaking site visits to all the shortlisted entries in the Private and Affordable Housing Development categories. Those companies shortlisted for Private Development of the Year will also be considered for the prestigious Homes for Scotland Home Builder of the Year award through a rigorous interview process.

Winners will be revealed at the Homes for Scotland Annual Lunch (sponsored by Burness Paull) at the EICC on Friday 17 May which will be hosted by comedian Jo Caulfield.

A keynote address will be delivered by cabinet secretary for communities and local government Aileen Campbell MSP.

Now in its 17th year, over 900 senior industry representatives and guests already confirmed to attend.

Chair of the independent judging panel Andy Mitchell, former land director at CALA Homes, said: “The Homes for Scotland awards are the most credible in our industry, and I was delighted to be asked to chair the independent judging panel for the second year running.

“This year’s panel now faces the difficult task of determining who should take the top prizes in what is an incredibly impressive shortlist showcasing the high quality developments and innovative practices taking place within our sector, which should be rightly recognised and celebrated.”

Share icon
Share this article: