Homes for Scotland launches revamped awards scheme

The winners of the 2015 Homes for Scotland Annual Awards were announced in front of some 900 guests at the organisation’s Annual Lunch
The winners of the 2015 Homes for Scotland Annual Awards

Industry body Homes for Scotland has opened up entries for its “refreshed and refocused” 2016 awards scheme, designed to showcase the sector’s achievements in building homes that meet a diverse range of needs and aspirations.

Introduced in 2003 in order to recognise and promote best practice, the awards underpin the organisation’s work, with this year’s programme featuring the following refreshed categories:

  • Private Development of the Year – large (100+units) (sponsored by NHBC)
  • Private Development of the Year – medium (26-99 units) (sponsored by Ground Developments)
  • Private Development of the Year – small (up to 25 units) (sponsored by Savills)
  • Affordable Housing Development of the Year (sponsored by Forster Roofing)

  • Home of the Year – First Time Buyers (sponsored by Allied Surveyors Scotland)
  • Supporting Organisation of the Year
  • In addition, those companies shortlisted for Private Development of the Year will also be put forward for the prestigious title of Home Builder of the Year, with the soon-to-be announced independent judging panel undertaking interviews with senior management during site visits to recognise the more rounded nature of this award.

    Separately, and to coincide with 2016 being the year of Architecture, Design and Innovation in Scotland, a special student award has been introduced with the aim of helping engage and attract future talent to the sector.

    All winners will be announced at the Homes for Scotland Annual Lunch at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre on Friday 20 May 2016 which will be hosted by actor and comedian Hugh Dennis.

    Now entering its 14th year, it is the largest such industry gathering attracting a record 900 guests in 2015 and with 250 places confirmed for 2016 in just the first week of bookings.

    Chairman Jim Mather said: “Refreshed and refocused are the key characteristics of our new approach to Homes for Scotland’s 2016 annual awards.

    “This is a direct result of the work of a panel of our members whose remit was to ensure that our awards continue to be among the most relevant, credible, motivating and highly regarded in the industry – as they are shaped by those who know exactly what’s involved in delivering the range of quality homes that our country desperately needs.

    “The categories for this year’s scheme cover the placemaking and sustainability agendas, architectural design quality and commercial success as well as championing those supporting organisations who play a vital role in housing delivery.”

    The official entry brochure for the 2016 Awards scheme can be accessed here.

    Share icon
    Share this article: