Homes for Scotland unveils 2022 awards shortlist

Home building body Homes for Scotland (HFS) has announced the shortlist for its 2022 awards programme as it plans for a return of the annual gathering where winners will be announced.

Homes for Scotland unveils 2022 awards shortlist

With a focus on “going the extra mile” to deliver developments or practices which stand out from the crowd, those companies making the judges’ first cut are:

Development of the Year – large (100+ units) - sponsored by Hacking and Paterson

  • Barratt and David Wilson Homes - The Strand, Edinburgh
  • CCG (with South Lanarkshire Council hub South West) - Whitlawburn Regeneration, Glasgow
  • Link Group & McTaggart Construction - Riverside Dalmarnock, Glasgow
  • Places for People - Chapelton, Aberdeenshire
  • Springfield Properties - Bertha Park, Perth
  • Stewart Milne Group - Dunnottar Park, Stonehaven

Development of the Year – medium (26-99 units) - sponsored by VELUX

  • CALA Homes (East) - Boroughmuir Phase 2, Edinburgh
  • CCG (with City of Edinburgh Council) - Bingham Avenue, Edinburgh
  • Cruden Homes (East) - Bonnington Mill, Edinburgh
  • Lovell Partnerships - Claish Farm, Stirlingshire
  • Westpoint Homes - One Hyndland Avenue, Glasgow
  • Whiteburn Projects - Caerlee Mill Phase 2, Innerleithen

Development of the Year – small (up to 25 units) - sponsored by Openreach

  • Cruden Homes (East) - Muirwood Gardens Phase 1, Kinross
  • Hadden Homes - Glenluie Green, Perthshire
  • Panacea Homes - The Primary, Glasgow
  • Rural Renaissance - Darnick Green, Melrose

Innovation of the Year (Transition to Net Zero) - sponsored by Shoosmiths

  • Barratt Developments - The Z House
  • Pixel - Online selection systems
  • Stewart Milne Group with Barratt Developments and Forster Group - AIMCH Project

Associate Member of the Year - sponsored by Anderson Strathern

  • Winner announced at the HFS Annual Lunch, with no prior shortlist released

With last year seeing an amalgamated 2020/21 shortlist and virtual awards showcase due to restrictions caused by the pandemic, updates to 2022 categories include a focus on the transition to net zero within the Innovation of the Year category – designed to showcase examples of real innovation within the sector as it contributes to a national commitment of net zero emissions by 2045.

In a further change, no prior shortlist has been released for the Associate Member of the Year category, with members of the HFS senior management team asked to nominate candidates within the HFS membership who have gone the extra mile, engaging with the organisation’s work and providing vital support to other members over the course of the year.

Reflecting the programme’s ongoing robust judging process, the independent panel will be undertaking site visits to all those shortlisted in the Development of the Year categories alongside corresponding online interviews to determine who will take one of three headline Home Builder of the Year awards. Those shortlisted under the Innovation of the Year (Transition to Net Zero) category will also be invited to an online interview.

The independent judging panel comprises:

  • David Knight (chair) – former MD, Avant Homes
  • Johnny Cadell, principal architect & designer, A+DS
  • Emma Marriott, director, Emma Marriott Consulting and Board member of Construction Scotland Innovation Centre
  • Andy Mason, head of strategic partnerships & housing, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Scott Peterkin, partner, Burness Paull
  • Sarah Stanger, former sales & marketing director, CALA Homes (East)
  • Jane Tennant, 2022 chair, Scottish Young Planners’ Network
  • Carrie Thomson, principal planner, Scottish Government.

Winners will be revealed at the Homes for Scotland Annual Lunch (sponsored by Burness Paull) at the EICC on Friday 20 May which will be hosted by impressionist and comedian Jon Culshaw. Over 900 senior industry representatives and guests are already confirmed to attend.

Chair of the independent judging panel David Knight, former managing director at Avant Homes, said: “I was delighted to be asked to chair this year’s refreshed judging panel and have been hugely impressed by the demonstrations of “going above and beyond” which have been evident throughout the entries received.

Whether that be examples of innovation, diversity, sustainability measures or meeting customer needs, HFS members have shown their commitment to delivering high quality places for people to live during what remain difficult circumstances.

With the judges now set to embark on the site visit and interview stage of the process, I am very much looking forward to seeing these submissions come to life and to the difficult task of deciding upon the winners.

Share icon
Share this article: