RAAC discovered in 18 universities and colleges

RAAC discovered in 18 universities and colleges

Potentially dangerous reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete (RAAC) has now been found in the buildings of 18 universities and colleges in Scotland.

A full list naming those impacted by the discovery of the material has been published by the Scottish Funding Council.

It features 11 universities, including Strathclyde University, Glasgow University and the West of Scotland University.

Seven colleges are also on the list, including Borders College and Fife College. RAAC has already been found in schools across Scotland.

Documents released under Freedom of Information laws had previously shown 16 universities and colleges were suspected to contain RAAC in September last year, although not all of them were named at the time.

A spokesperson for Colleges Scotland said: “Seven colleges have identified ra ac within their estates. The Scottish Government is not providing funding for Raac-specific repairs to colleges, and discussions are continuing to understand where funding might come from to tackle any remedial action, surveys and other costs.

“Colleges do not have the funding available to tackle repairs themselves without impacting other projects, and the recent Scottish Budget for 2024/25 only provides capital funding for ongoing repairs and maintenance – there is no distinct funding to tackle Raac.”

A spokesperson for Universities Scotland said: “RAAC has now been confirmed in several universities’ estates. universities are managing the affected buildings, including partial or full closure, and universities are working hard to minimise disruption to students and staff.

“The full cost of remedial works is not yet known, as surveys are still ongoing. However, we’d expect this to run to the many tens of millions.

“Universities have made a number of suggestions to government, as to how collaborative working across sectors might be beneficial in managing the fall-out from RAAC, given so many parts of the public and third sector are affected.”

The full list published by the Scottish Funding Council includes:

  • Borders College
  • Dundee & Angus College
  • Edinburgh College
  • Fife College
  • Glasgow Clyde College
  • UHI Moray College
  • West College Scotland
  • University of Aberdeen
  • Abertay University
  • University of Dundee
  • University of Edinburgh
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • University of Glasgow
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Stirling
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of the West of Scotland

A spokesperson for the Scottish Funding Council said: “We are maintaining a close dialogue with colleges and universities about RAAC.

“We have advised colleges and universities to follow the recommended Institution of Structural Engineers guidance and access the appropriate technical expertise.”

Share icon
Share this article: