Winners revealed at 8th annual Scottish Property Awards

The achievements of the Scottish property sector to progress with major developments in the height of the global pandemic was celebrated last night at the Scottish Property Awards.

Winners revealed at 8th annual Scottish Property Awards

Event host Des Clarke

Attended by more than 300 registered viewers, the live broadcast from Glasgow, sponsored by Peace Recruitment and PMP, crowned 17  awards winners following assessments by an independent judging panel of 16 industry leaders.

The ultimate award of the night was presented to Edinburgh-based Qmile Group which has been progressing work on its £350 million Haymarket Edinburgh development in March 2020.  Last year, the company announced Baillie Gifford had agreed a pre-let of 280,000 sq ft of the Grade A office accommodation as its first major deal for the site.

The ultimate individual award, the Business Leadership Award sponsored by Bank of Scotland was presented to Dan Macdonald, co-founder of Macdonald Estates. He was commended for his work developing major regeneration projects and for his personal efforts to improve understanding of the economic impact of commercial property in Scotland. He created the Scottish Property Development Forum 12 years ago which led to the creation of the successful Scottish Property Federation.

In an acceptance speech, Mr Macdonald said: “It is an honour and a privilege to receive this award and during this time of COVID, it is even more meaningful as we reflect on achievements of the past. Our work to improve understanding between the public and private sectors has given this industry an influential voice to coordinate policy, meaning, planning, design, and purpose.

“Now is the time for us all to be inspired about the future. We must find a way forward to stimulate and build our Scottish economy. We need an economic plan for growth involving long term infrastructure, efficient, high quality planning which is socially inclusive.” 

Among other awards was an Outstanding Achievement Award presented to the NHS Louisa Jordan Hospital development team. The £38m project led by Balfour Beatty worked in partnership to deliver the temporary facility under pressured timescales. Also in Healthcare, the new Elgin and Appin Ward at Stobhill Mental Health Estate won Healthcare Development of the Year, sponsored by Addleshaw Goddard. Simply UK were Highly Commended for the Bridge of Weir Care Home in the same category.

Peace Recruitment, long term sponsors of the awards welcomed the news that projects across Scotland in Perth, Glasgow, Inverurie, Lanark and Inverness were all announced as winners.

Chris Peace, managing director, said: “We’re always happy to see achievements celebrated at Peace Recruitment and so our congratulations to all the finalists and winners at the Scottish Property Awards. It’s been a difficult year for everyone, but we are pleased to see progress being made on sites across the country and the requirement for staff ever increasing.” 

The popular Deal of the Year category, sponsored by PMP, was presented to the deal team which secured Baillie Gifford at The Haymarket, a significant step forward in the success of a major city centre project.

Joe Madden, managing director of PMP, added: “Congratulations to everyone winning at the Scottish Property Awards. It is a real accolade to be highlighted as a major achiever in a very challenging year and among so much competition. Everyone at PMP will be actively sharing our congratulations with all the winners in the days and weeks ahead.” 

Also among the winners was architecture and planning practice Halliday Fraser Munro which secured two awards on the night.

Winners revealed at 8th annual Scottish Property Awards

Inverurie Community Campus

The firm was awarded ‘The Business Resilience Award’ with Inverurie Community Campus receiving ‘Development of the Year’ alongside hub North Scotland, Robertson Construction and Aberdeenshire Council. The new £55 million Inverurie Community Campus, found in the heart of the Aberdeenshire town, replaced two existing community buildings and incorporated two existing schools under one roof to provide a new civic centre for the town and the surrounding area.

With last year being dominated by Covid-19, Halliday Fraser Munro also demonstrated to the judges panel its resilience by responding quickly and effectively to the pandemic. Throughout the pandemic, Halliday Fraser Munro continued to perform strongly. It maintained service on over £500m worth of construction projects nationally, while winning £100m worth of new work.

David Halliday, managing director of Halliday Fraser Munro, said: “We’re delighted that the judges saw the value we brought to not only Inverurie Community Campus but the town.

“Our team have shown real resilience throughout the pandemic so it’s a real asset and confidence booster to have gained recognition in such a prestigious and new award category. We look forward to continuing our work in communities throughout the rest of 2021.”

The 2021 winners in full 

Property Company of the Year sponsored by Wolffe

  • WINNER: Qmile Group  

Deal of the Year sponsored by PMP

  • WINNER: The Haymarket, Edinburgh. Pre-let to Baillie Gifford; QMile, JLL, Savills, M&G Real Estate, Ryden.

Regeneration Project of the Year sponsored by Bruce Stevenson Insurance Brokers

  • WINNER: Perth Creative Exchange; Perth & Kinross Council  
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Gairloch Museum; LDN Architects & Simpson Builders

Health Care Development of the Year sponsored by Addleshaw Goddard  

  • WINNER: Elgin and Appin Ward, Stobhill Mental Health Estate; NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde, hub West Scotland, Keppie Design  
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Bridge of Weir Care Home, Renfrewshire; Simply UK

Development of the Year (Public Buildings)

  • WINNER: Inverurie Community Campus; hub North Scotland, Aberdeenshire Council, Robertson, Halliday Fraser Munro

Development of the Year (Commercial Buildings)

  • WINNER: King’s Stables Road, Edinburgh; Peveril Securities and Campus DM, Fletcher Joseph, Bowmer and Kirkland

Architectural Excellence Award (Commercial Use)

  • WINNER: Clydesdale Community Hub, South Lanarkshire; Grant Murray Architects

Architectural Excellence Award (Public Use)

  • WINNER: The Inverness Justice Centre; Reiach and Hall Architects

Business Resilience Award sponsored by Scottish Property Federation

  • WINNER: Halliday Fraser Munro

Financial Support Team of the Year

  • WINNER: The Royal Bank of Scotland

Industrial Team of the Year sponsored by Peace Recruitment

  • WINNER: Colliers International

Office Agency Team of the Year


Investment Agency Team of the Year

  • Lismore Real Estate

Outstanding Achievement in Partnership sponsored by Addleshaw Goddard

  • NHS Louisa Jordan;  NHS Scotland, Balfour Beatty, Graham, Kier, Robertson and Keppie Design

Business Leadership Award sponsored by Bank of Scotland

  • Dan Macdonald 
Share icon
Share this article: