RIAS unveils seven-strong Andrew Doolan shortlist

The V&A Dundee, Mackintosh at the Willow and Collective on Calton Hill are among the projects shortlisted by the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) for its celebrated RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award.

A longlist of the 10 winners of this year’s RIAS Awards was whittled down to seven projects for this year’s award, with the Highland Housing Alliance’s Raining’s Stairs development in Inverness, Briongos MacKinnon House in Strathaven by Richard Murphy Architects and Stallan-Brand’s Broomlands Primary School in Kelso dropping out.

The shortlist in full is as follows:

The Black House (c) David Barbour
  • The Black House, Isle of Skye (contract value not for publication) Dualchas Architects Ltd for a Private Client
Collective on Calton Hill (c) Susie Lowe
  • Collective on Calton Hill, Edinburgh (£4m) Collective Architecture for City of Edinburgh Council and Collective
The Macallan Distillery and Visitor Experience (c) Joas Souza
  • The Macallan Distillery and Visitor Experience, Craigellachie (£140m) Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners for Edrington
Mackintosh at the Willow (c) Alexander Fraser
  • Mackintosh at the Willow, Glasgow (contract value not for publication) Simpson & Brown for Willow Tea Rooms Trust
Jack Copland Centre (c) Andrew Lee
  • Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service – The Jack Copland Centre, Edinburgh (£30m) Reiach and Hall Architects for Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service
Tollcross Housing Association Offices (c) Andrew Lee
  • Tollcross Housing Association Offices, Glasgow (£2.92 m) Elder and Cannon Architects for Tollcross Housing Association
V&A Dundee (c) HuftonCrow
  • V&A Dundee (£80.1 m) Kengo Kuma & Associates with PiM.studio Architects and James F Stephen Architects for Dundee City Council.

Judging will take place at the end of September against a range of criteria, including architectural integrity; usability and context; delivery and execution; and sustainability. This year’s judges are Prof. Sadie Morgan, dRMM (Chair), Henry McKeown, jm architects and Prof. Mona Siddiqui OBE Hon FRIAS. The winner will be announced live at a dinner at the National Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh on October 4 by Aileen Campbell, cabinet secretary for communities and local government and the Doolan family. 

In 2018, the Doolan was awarded to Nucleus, The Nuclear Decommissioning Authority and Caithness Archive designed by Reiach and Hall

Related posts