Springfield Properties named ‘Home Builder of the Year’

The winners of the 2015 Homes for Scotland Annual Awards were announced in front of some 900 guests at the organisation’s Annual Lunch
The winners of the 2015 Homes for Scotland Annual Awards were announced in front of some 900 guests at the organisation’s Annual Lunch

Recognising the efforts made to ensure the strongest possible platform for recovery within the new build market, the winners of trade body Homes for Scotland’s prestigious awards scheme have been revealed at the organisation’s largest ever ceremony.

Focused on the theme of “Foundations for the Future”, the 2015 Awards showcased a commitment to not only raise standards across the industry but also overcome the barriers that still impede the building of much needed homes across all tenures.

The awards were presented in front of a record crowd of some 900 senior industry representatives and their guests at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre on Friday 15 May, the largest such gathering of its kind.

Springfield Properties picked up the top Home Builder of the Year award for its use of bold and innovative approaches to housing delivery, customer care and employee engagement, whilst Bill Robertson of Robertson Homes was presented with a Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution to home building across 50 years.

A special award was also granted to former Homes for Scotland director of planning Allan Lundmark in recognition of the valued role he has played not only as a leading figure within the trade body’s senior management team, but also as a trusted industry advisor.

Mike Galloway, director of city development, Dundee City Council and chair of the independent judging panel, said: “Ensuring Scotland has enough homes of all tenures in the right locations to meet its diverse needs is key to tackling the country’s housing challenge and these longstanding awards show that we have an industry that has an ongoing commitment to raising standards by recognising and promoting best practice.

“This year’s judging panel was looking for demonstrations of excellence across a whole range of areas which are key to the future success of not only the home building sector itself but also the local communities they serve.

“Given the thousands of homes Scotland desperately needs, I hope that the awards will prove to be a further encouragement to all builders of what can be achieved in what are still challenging circumstances.”

Jim Mather during his inaugural address
Jim Mather during his inaugural address

New Homes for Scotland chair Jim Mather also gave his inaugural address at the event, calling for the “evolution” of the Help to Buy (Scotland) scheme to maintain the positive progress that has been made in supporting buyers, stimulating the building of new homes and creating jobs.

This follows news last week that the scheme has to date resulted in 5,000 sales worth £1bn.

Delivering his inaugural address to an audience of some 900 senior industry representatives and guests attending the organisation’s Annual Lunch in Edinburgh on Friday, including housing minister Margaret Burgess, Mather, himself a former Minister, urged the Scottish Government to announce details of what new support will be in place after the planned end of Help to Buy (Scotland) in March next year so that both buyers and builders have the confidence and predictability necessary on which to base their purchasing and investment decision-making.

Committing to help establish the urgent need for new homes of all tenures as an issue of national priority and raise it to the top of the public policy debate, Mather also emphasised the need for the Scottish Government to work closely with the industry and other key stakeholders to avoid unintended negative consequences that could not only damage the industry’s ability to deliver much needed homes but also diminish the economic and social benefits that would otherwise accrue.

Housing minister Margaret Burgess said: “The Scottish Government has invested hundreds of millions of pounds to pursue a range of initiatives to support private sector activity.

“Whilst the delivery of affordable housing remains our top priority, the Scottish Government is committed to see an increase in supply across all tenures, delivering a strong sustainable economy and supporting a fairer society.”

The full list of winners is detailed below:

Best Employer (sponsored by Archial Norr)

  • winner: Mactaggart & Mickel Homes
  • Employee of the Year (sponsored by Clancy Docwra)

    • winner: Heather Henderson – Springfield Properties
    • Lifetime Achievement (sponsored by Ground Developments)

      • Bill Robertson CBE
      • Best Customer Service Initiative (sponsored by Celotex)

        • winner: Springfield Properties
        • commended: Miller Homes
        • Best Partnership in Affordable Housing Delivery (sponsored by Forster Roofing)

          • winner: Rettie & Co, Cruden Group, Hillcrest Housing Association, City of Edinburgh Council and Scottish Futures Trust (Sailmaker Apartments, Leith)
          • commended: Dunedin Canmore Housing Association and City of Edinburgh Council (Little Road Phase 1, Merchants Court, Edinburgh)
          • Best Home Design (sponsored by Registers of Scotland)

            • winner: Robertson Homes (Azure Grand, Westercraigs, Inverness)
            • Best Development – large (26+ units) (sponsored by NHBC)

              • winner: CALA Homes (East) (Albert Dock, The Shore, Edinburgh)
              • commended: EMA Architects and Glencairn Properties (Bellevue Colonies, Edinburgh)
              • commended: McTaggart Construction and Robertson Homes (Urban Union) (Laurieston, Glasgow)
              • commended: Places for People (Roman Fields, Twechar)
              • Best Development – medium (11-25 units) (sponsored by ZPG)

                • winner: Eildon Housing Association (Dunwhinny Gardens, Peebles)
                • commended: Springfield Properties (Corstorphine Mews, Edinburgh)
                • Best Development – small (up to ten units) (sponsored by Allied Surveyors Scotland)

                  • winner: Springfield Properties (Powderhall Gate, Edinburgh)
                  • Best Supporting Company (sponsored by Brodies LLP)

                    • winner: First Mortgage
                    • Special Award

                      • Allan Lundmark
                      • Homes for Scotland Home Builder of the Year 2015

                        • Springfield Properties
                        • Share icon
                          Share this article: